John Nettles, Chairman of the Board

John Nettles retired from the Marine Corps after completing 27 years of service in May 2014.  At the beginning of June 2014, he became Deputy Director Support for NAF Business and Support Services Division of Manpower & Reserve Affairs, Headquarters Marine Corps.

John has an exceptional record of performance and 25+ years of leadership experience attaining goals, increasing productivity and process improvement. He has successfully managed military and private organizations ranging from 20 to 700 personnel. John brings a true understanding of strategic planning and a focused, task oriented, and efficient management approach to the board.

Mark Brohawn, Treasurer

Mark Brohawn has over 32 years of experience in satellite/cellular communications and National Defense electronics experience. He has over 14 years of experience in the management of mobile assets through the use of satellite communications. The use of this information helps the trucking and shipping industry more effectively utilize their assets and thus reduce the need to purchase additional assets. Mark resides in Fauquier County and has a wife, three kids, and three grandsons. He has been involved with the Boys & Girls Club of Fauquier for over 9 years and enjoys being part of this organization.

Ruth Nelson Umbel, Secretary

Ruth Payne Nelson, principal at WC Taylor Middle School where the Fauquier Club first opened, is delighted to be a member of such an integral part of our community. Ms. Nelson is a Fauquier native who taught choral music in Prince William County for 15 years before returning home to Fauquier as an administrator. Music continues to be one of her main passions and she continues to serve as Director of Music and organist at Marshall United Methodist Church where she has done so for 35 years. Additionally, Ruth is on the Board of Directors, where she has done so for 35 years. She is also on the Board of Directors for Fauquier Heritage and Preservation Foundation, Inc and is a member of Fauquier Lodge #332 of the Independent Order of Oddfellows. Her hobbies include reading voraciously, knitting, cooking any cuisine imaginable, traveling, singing and playing piano and organ, and spending quality time with precious family and friends (including her 3 cats).

Patty Brown, Resource Development Committee Chair

Patti Brown has been a realtor with Long and Foster Companies in the area for the past 18 years. Patti volunteers as tutor and mentor for the club and has been very active in raising money and supplies, specifically for Fauquier through the generous efforts of the realtors of the Greater Piedmont Association of Realtors.

Scot Small, Marketing & Communications Committee Chair

Scot Small, President & CEO of RevBuilders Marketing, graduated from Virginia Tech with a B.S. in 1988. He has served on the Fauquier Chamber Board of Directors as the Vice Chair of Marketing, and currently serves on the membership & marketing committees. Scot also currently serves on the regional board for the Middleburg Bank. He is a certified John Maxwell Speaker/Trainer/Coach and provides company leaders with world-class training on leadership. Scot has been married to his wife Sally for 26 and has 3 daughters ages 20,18 & 16. Scot and Sally are active memeber of ther church and lead the Community Connections ministry.

Bob Mosier, Leadership Committee

Robert, Bob Mosier is the Sheriff of Fauquier County. Bob’s career spans over 30 years in local, county, Federal Government, domestic, and international law enforcement. Bob has been married to his wife Cindy for 28 years. They are the proud parents of three adult children and have three grandchildren. Bob is currently on the board of the Fauquier Historical Society, is a volunteer gun safety instructor with the Boys Scouts, and supports various youth organizations. Both Bob and Cindy are active members of their church. Bob enjoy sailing, classic cars, hunting, and history-and most of all, spending time with family.

Clay Campbell, Building & Grounds Committee Chair

Hailey Riley, Resource Development Committee

Elaine Lassiter, Leadership Committee

James N. Hartman, III. , Marketing & Communications Committee

Kylie Henson, M. Ed., Marketing & Communications Committee

Nicole McCarroll, Finance Committee